Connect with us
drew pearson football hall of fame


Hail Hail! Pearson, Flores Football Hall Nominees

Hail Hail! Pearson, Flores Football Hall Nominees

There’s some good news for two former NFL members, as well as those who follow them.  Two-time Super Bowl-winning coach Tom Flores and standout wide receiver Drew Pearson are finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021.

It’s a long-time coming for both, and few were surprised that they made the final cut.  Flores was nominated in the category of new coaches, and Pearson is a senior nominee.

The First Hispanic NFL Coach Heads To The Hall Of Fame

Flores, 83, had a 105-90 career record with the Raiders (three in Oakland and six in Los Angeles) and Seattle Seahawks.  He led the Raiders to win the Super Bowl two times, in 1981 and 1984.  Furthermore, he won 91 games against 56 losses, which represents a 61.9% win rate, and that includes a record of 8-3 in the postseason games during the nine seasons when he was in charge of the Raiders.


Up to $500 Free Bet


These are very excellent metrics.  Concerning his entire career victories, they only compare to those of Hall of Famer John Madden in franchise history.  With these marks, Flores has big chances of becoming a Hall of Famer, and has definitely earned the right to be included.

Pearson’s Football Hall Nomination Is Long Overdue

Pearson, who is 69 years, as an undrafted free agent, played his whole career of 11 years with the Dallas Cowboys.  He made it to three All-Pro teams and picked up 489 receptions for 7,822 yards.  Being a member of the All-Decade team of the 1970s generation, Pearson played in 22 postseason games, making 86 catches and scoring a total of eight touchdowns.

Back in 1977, the Cowboys won their second Super Bowl, and he was the NFL leader in receiving yards (870) that season.  His marks are quite impressive, he caught the legendary “Hail Mary” touchdown against the Vikings in the 1975 playoffs, and Pearson is a great nominee for being inducted into the football Hall of Fame.

He became emotional when he was announced as one of the inductees.  Pearson said on a call he had with football Hall of Fame president and CEO David Baker on Tuesday, “Thank you for the call.  You made my day, and you made my life.  How can I thank you?  I’m crying, and I haven’t cried in a long time. Happy tears. I’ve been waiting for this call for so long.” Pearson showed gratitude for this opportunity; most likely, this is a dream come true for him.  After years of hard work, players like Pearson deserve to be rewarded in one or many ways. In case he is elected, he will feel proud of such achievement.

18 Finalists Will Make It To The Last Round

Both Flores and Pearson will be considered for induction at the football Hall of Fame selection committee gathering the day before the Super Bowl next year.  Each nominee must get votes from 80% of the 48 members in order to be chosen.


Up to $500 Free Bet


The final list of nominees will include 18 names.  In addition to Flores and Pearson, a contributor (expected to be nominated on Aug. 25) and 15 current players will be chosen sometime later this year and in January 2021.  The Class of 2021 will be enshrined on Sunday, Aug. 8, 2021.

The event will take place right after another Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony.  This year’s event was put on holdv because of the coronavirus and was ultimately rescheduled for just ahead of next year’s event.  That ceremony will include 2020 inductees, former players Steve Atwater, Isaac Bruce, Steve Hutchinson, Edgerrin James and Troy Polamalu, as well as former coaches Bill Cowher and Jimmy Johnson.  In addition, NFL Films co-founder Steve Sabol, former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue and NY Giants executive George Young are going to be enshrined.

Erik is a writer and a sports nut who has had the good fortune to be able to experience a wide variety of world sports action up close and personal. He enjoys staying on top of the changing world of athletics and capitalizing on his writing skills to offer a unique take on what's going on in the ever-changing athletics ecosystem.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in News

Get Free Picks & Exclusive Offers