Connect with us

MLB Standings

The chart below lists the latest MLB standings by division in the American and National leagues. To view wild card standings, simply click on the drop down select options on the top the right. In order to view MLB standings for any previous year, simply select the appropriate season from the other drop down menu.

Understanding Major League Baseball Standings  

If you are looking for all the latest major league baseball team standings, you have come to the right place. Below you will find the current MLB standings to help you with your MLB betting this week and assessing the odds.

After the conclusion of the 162-game regular season, Major League Baseball’s postseason consists of 10 teams are across the American and National Leagues, with five teams from each league qualifying for the postseason. 


Up to $500 Free Bet


Postseason MLB Standings 

The postseason consists of the three division winners – East, Central and West — from each league, plus the top two non-division winners by winning percentage as Wild Cards. The two Wild Card teams in each league can both come from the same division.  

Under the current imbalanced regular-season schedule, teams play the other four teams within their division 19 times, consisting of 76 of 162 games. Because each league consists of 15 teams in the MLB standings, it is necessitated that at least one Interleague series take place at all times during the course of the season, particularly on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and weekend days, when all 30 teams are routinely scheduled to play. 

MLB Wildcard Teams 

The two Wild Card teams play a one-game playoff in order to advance to the Division Series against the team with the best record in the league, regardless of division. The other two division winners play in the other Division Series. The winners of the best-of-five Division Series then play in the best-of-seven League Championship Series, with those winners advancing to the best-of-seven World Series. 

Baseball moved to a divisional system in 1969, with two divisions in each league. Through expansion, which continued periodically through 1993, Major League Baseball grew to 30 teams, necessitating a new postseason system beginning in 1994.  

The two leagues were divided into three divisions and a single Wild Card was awarded to the non-division-winning team with the best winning percentage. The Wild Card team would play the team with the best overall record, unless both teams were in the same division, in which case the Wild Card would play the division winner with the second-best record. 


Up to $500 Free Bet


During the 17 years of the single Wild Card format, five Wild Card teams went on to win the World Series: The 1997 Florida Marlins, the 2002 Anaheim Angels, the 2003 Marlins, the 2004 Boston Red Sox and the 2011 St. Louis Cardinals. A Wild Card team appeared in the World Series each year from 2002-07 and won it three straight seasons from 2002-04. 

This one-team Wild Card format was expanded to the current two-team Wild Card round in 2012. Since the implementation of the second Wild Card and the one-game Wild Card playoff game, two Wild Card entries have gone on to win the World Series: The 2014 San Francisco Giants and the 2019 Washington Nationals.  

In 2002 and 2014, both World Series participants – the Angels and Giants in ’02 and the Giants and Kansas City Royals in ’14 – consisted of Wild Card teams. 

Get Free Picks & Exclusive Offers