Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls took over in the 1990s, winning six titles. Jordan not only went on to become the greatest basketball player of all-time but one of the most inspiring athletes in any sport, ever. Now you can relive the Bulls’ sixth and final championship season in The Last Dance, a 10-part documentary that starts this Sunday on ESPN.

ESPN originally planned a June premiere for the highly anticipated “Last Dance,” but with the COVID-19 pandemic leaving gaping holes in its programming lineup, and the general public just starved for sports, it moved the premiere up to this weekend.

With sports at a standstill and everyone tuning in, ESPN wants to get as much bang for its buck out of “The Last Dance.” ESPN plans to air two versions of the series: one with profanities on the flagship ESPN net; the other, with expletives deleted, will air simultaneously on ESPN2.

‘Last Dance’ Also Streaming

Alongside the linear airings of “Last Dance,”  ESPN Plus streaming service will present “Detail: 1998 Chicago Bulls,” with five episodes over the next five Sundays.

This edition of “Detail” sports-analysis show is hosted by key members of the championship team: Steve Kerr, Dennis Rodman, and head coach Phil Jackson. In these individual episodes, the guests will break down pivotal games and moments during the Bulls’ run to their sixth NBA championship.

Each of the subjects are interviewed remotely and will run about 20 minutes.

On Friday, meanwhile, ESPN released a five-minute clip from the first episode of “The Last Dance”:

https://twitter.com/espn/status/1251130826357604357

Two episodes will be shown on ESPN each Sunday evening for the next five weeks, with the previous two episodes getting replayed each Sunday before the two new episodes air. Here’s the full ESPN broadcast schedule:
Sunday, April 19

  • Episode 1: 9 p.m. ET (6 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 2: 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT)

Sunday, April 26

  • Episode 1 (rebroadcast): 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 2 (rebroadcast) : 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 3: 9 p.m. ET (6 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 4: 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT)

Sunday, May 3

  • Episode 3 (rebroadcast): 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 4 (rebroadcast) : 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 5: 9 p.m. ET (6 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 6: 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT)

Sunday, May 10

  • Episode 5 (rebroadcast): 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 6 (rebroadcast) : 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 7: 9 p.m. ET (6 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 8: 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT)

Sunday, May 17

  • Episode 7 (rebroadcast): 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 8 (rebroadcast) : 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 9: 9 p.m. ET (6 p.m. PT)
  • Episode 10: 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT)

For viewers outside of the US, each episode will be available to stream on Netflix five hours after it’s shown on ESPN each week, beginning at 3:01 a.m. ET (12:01 a.m. PT). Here’s the Netflix schedule:
Monday, April 20

  • Episodes 1 and 2

Monday, April 27

  • Episodes 3 and 4

Monday, May 4

  • Episodes 5 and 6

Monday, May 11

  • Episodes 7 and 8

Monday, May 18

  • Episodes 9 and 10

In addition to watching on TV, you can also watch The Last Dance after each episode airs on ESPN.com or the ESPN app. If you don’t have a TV subscription, you can watch the documentary with a live-TV streaming service like SlingTV or YouTube TV.

I’m from Chicago, a Jordan and Bulls fan, so can’t I tell you how excited I am for this documentary. It is going to be great re-living some of my best childhood memories. People from Chicago also know some of these crazy Jordan stories because of Sam Smith’s Jordan Rules, but it will be fun seeing the entire world’s reaction when some of these come out. I think what I’m most excited for, other than the footage, is the guest appearances. Everyone and anyone you can think of that is associated with the basketball world is in this documentary. I’m hoping for some stories from the guests that have never been told before.

Either way, Sunday night can’t get here fast enough!